Poland, Hungary and Czech Republic broke EU law


The European Court of Justice has ruled that Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic breached their obligations under EU law by refusing to take in refugees.

The ECJ says in its ruling that these countries had failed to accept their share of 120,000 asylum seekers who had arrived in Italy and Greece, under a relocation programme agreed by the European Council in 2015.

It also finds Poland and the Czech Republic guilty of failing to fulfil their obligations under an earlier Council decision with regard to 40,000 migrants.

The court says the three member states have no right to cite maintaining law and or safeguarding internal security, or claim that the relocation programme was dysfunctional, in refusing to comply.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *