More Belarusian officials added to Latvia’s entry blacklist

The Latvian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) announced November 20 that 26 more Belarusian citizens have been declared persona non grata and are consequently denied entry to Latvia. 

“In line with what was decided by the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Latvia, and in coordination with the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of Estonia and Lithuania, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Latvia, Edgars Rinkēvičs, has taken the decision to impose an entry ban for an indefinite time on 26 officials of the Republic of Belarus,” the MFA said.

The entry ban has been imposed on the Belarusian Minister of Information, the Minister of Sports and Tourism and his deputy, and other representatives and officials for the interior and justice structures, trade unions and the state media involved in dissemination of propaganda. However, Foreign Minister  Vladimir Makei   remains off the list.

“By their actions, the individuals included on this list have engaged in the organisation and support of the falsification of the 9 August presidential elections and backed the ensuing violent crackdown on peaceful protests and demonstrations,” the Latvian MFA said.

The additions mean Latvia has currently imposed an entry ban on 159 individuals including those listed in previous announcements  as reported by LSM  .

The 26 individuals that have now been entered on the persona non grata list for Latvia are:   


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *