Lithuania updates ‘blacklist’ of coronavirus-affected countries, imposes mandatory self-quarantine


Lithuania has introduced a 14-day isolation requirement for its nationals arriving from 50 countries most affected by the coronavirus, including Sweden, Russia and Belarus.

Previously, Lithuanian nationals were only advised to self-isolated after arriving from the countries on the list.

Non-Lithuanian nationals are still not allowed to come to Lithuania from the coronavirus-affected countries, except with special permission from Lithuanian institutions.

“Previously, those arriving from the affected countries were only recommended to self-isolate. Starting from today, [Monday] June 29, the 14-day isolation for such persons is mandatory,” the Health Ministry told BNS. “The procedure has been tightened in view of deteriorating epidemiological indicators in certain foreign countries.”

The ministry has been updating its list of countries most affected by Covid-19 every week.

The countries considered most affected are those with more than 25 new cases per population of 100,000 reported over the last two weeks.

Travelers from countries with infection rates between 15 and 25 are advised, but not required, to go into 14-day self-isolation.

Lithuania currently allows entry for foreigners from 29 European, including the United Kingdom from June 29.

More information about travel restrictions in Lithuania  here  .


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *