Lithuania changes self-quarantine rules: only arrivals from countries with higher case-counts to isolate

The Lithuanian government has decided to change how it classifies coronavirus-affected countries. Only travellers from places with higher infection rates than Lithuania’s will be required to self-quarantine.

“In view of the rapidly changing situation in Lithuania and the world, we must respond to new epidemiological circumstances,” Interior Minister Rita Tamašunienė said in a statement on Wednesday.

The government has decided that a country will be added to Lithuania’s blacklist of coronavirus-infected countries if its infection rate is more than 10 percent higher than Lithuania’s.

Until now, the benchmark has been 25 cases of Covid-19 cases confirmed over the last two weeks per 100,000 people.

Travellers coming from the coronavirus-affected countries are required to self-quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

At the moment, Lithuania’s coronavirus infection rate is 53.9 cases per 100,000 over the last two weeks.

Only 10 countries in the European Economic Area (EEA) have lower rates: Cyprus, Norway, Finland, Latvia, Germany, Liechtenstein, Greece, Bulgaria, Italy, and Estonia.

The government has also decided to include additional criteria for countries outside the EEA: the extent of coronavirus testing, the share of positive results and hospitalised cases. Lithuania will also take into account the reliability of data from individual countries.

Lithuania’s Health Ministry announces updates to the list of coronavirus-affected countries every Friday, with the list coming into effect on Monday.

Currently, 96 countries and territories are on the  list  .

More information about travel restrictions in Lithuania  here  .


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *