Latvian coalition parties sign Kariņš’s government declaration

On Wednesday, 23 January, partners of prime minister Krišjāņis Kariņš’s government coalition signed the cooperation agreement, government declaration and fiscal discipline agreement, as confirmed in New Unity’s statement.

Leaders of parties and factions signed the documents.

Today, the Saeima will meet to decide on approval of a new government with Kariņš at the helm.

The government may be approved by 61 Saeima deputies, securing stable majority support, Kariņš previously said.

Representatives of five political parties – New Unity, New Conservative Party, KPV LV, Attīstībai/Par and National Alliance. New Unity’s politician will take charge over the government even though the party received the least number of seats in the Saeima.

New Unity will be represented by the prime minister Krišjāņis Kariņš, finance minister Jānis Reirs and foreign affairs minister Edgars Rinkēvičs. New Conservative Party will be represented by justice minister Jānis Bordāns, education and science minister Ilga Šuplinska and transport minister Tālis Linkaits.

AP will be represented in the government by environment protection and regional development minister Juris Pūce, defence minister Artis Pabriks and healthcare minister Ilze Viņķele.

National Alliance will be represented by culture minister Dace Melbārde and agriculture minister Kaspars Gerhards. KPV LV will be represented by economy minister Ralfs Nemiro, interior affairs minister Sandis Ģirģens and welfare minister Ramona Petraviča.

KPV LV does not have unanimous support for the government. Five of this faction’s deputies had previously said they would not support participation in Kariņš’s government.

Political parties represented in the parliament needed three months to reach an agreement on this government. This has been the longest government formation process Latvia has experienced since 1990.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *