Final 10 announced in race to become British PM and Tory leader

Ten candidates were nominated on Monday in the contest to succeed Theresa May as Conservative Party leader and prime minister, announced the party’s 1922 Committee.

The candidates include:

Former foreign minister Boris Johnson
His successor Jeremy Hunt
Environment minister Michael Gove
Former Brexit minister Dominic Raab
Health minister Matt Hancock
Interior minister Sajid Javid
International development minister Rory Stewart
Former minister Esther McVey
Former leader of the House of Commons Andrea Leadsom
Conservative lawmaker Mark Harper.

The first round of voting to narrow down the race to the final two candidates will take place on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the ten hopefuls are set to make their case in 20-minute individual meetings with the 1922 Committee over the course of Tuesday and Wednesday.

Six candidates – Michael Gove, Jeremy Hut, Dominic Raab, Mark Harper, Andrea Leadsom and Sajid Javid – will be heard today in the closed-door meetings, and the final four – Boris Johnson, Matt Hancock, Rory Stewart and Esther McVey – will be heard tomorrow.

Theresa May stepped down as the leader of Britain’s ruling Conservative Party leader on Friday, June 7 kickstarting a contest among numerous hopefuls looking to replace her as UK prime minister.

She will remain in Downing Street as caretaker prime minister until next month when the Tory leadership race is decided.

The outcome will determine the country’s direction in the run-up to October 31, the revised date for the country’s scheduled departure from the European Union.

EU leaders agreed an extension of several months after Theresa May failed repeatedly to get the negotiated exit deal through the UK parliament.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *